• DOLAR 32.788
  • EURO 35.16
  • ALTIN 2457.99
  • ...
Ireland, Norway, and Spain decides to recognize Palestinian state
Google News'te Doğruhaber'e abone olun. 

This announcement was made by Irish Prime Minister Simon Harris during a press conference on Wednesday, marking a unified stance by the three countries towards supporting Palestinian statehood.

"Today, Ireland, Norway, and Spain are announcing that we recognize the state of Palestine," said Harris. "Each of us will now undertake whatever national steps are necessary to give effect to that decision." Harris expressed confidence that additional countries would join Ireland, Spain, and Norway in the coming weeks.

Highlighting Ireland's commitment, Harris remarked, "Taking our place on the world stage and being recognized by others as having the right to be there was a matter of the highest importance for the founders of our state."

Norwegian Prime Minister Jonas Gahr Støre confirmed that Norway's official recognition of Palestine would take effect on May 28, a statement echoed by Norwegian Foreign Minister Espen Barth Eide.

In response to the recognition, the Israeli Foreign Ministry announced the immediate recall of its ambassadors to Ireland and Norway.

The move by Ireland, Norway, and Spain aligns with recent indications from other European Union members, such as Slovenia and Malta, suggesting a collective shift towards recognizing a "two-state solution" as essential for lasting peace in the Middle East. Norwegian Prime Minister Støre emphasized, "There cannot be peace in the Middle East if there is no recognition."

Despite not being an EU member, Norway has consistently supported a "two-state solution" and mirrored the EU's diplomatic moves. Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez of Spain is set to address the Spanish parliament to discuss the formal recognition of a Palestinian state, according to a government source who confirmed an earlier report by El Confidencial. A spokesperson for Sanchez's office declined to comment.

A press conference is scheduled for 06:30 GMT on Wednesday by the Norwegian prime minister and foreign minister, with the Middle East as the main topic of discussion. This development comes amidst ongoing Israeli military operations in Gaza, resulting in significant displacement and heightened humanitarian concerns.

Norway's stance on recognizing Palestine is aligned with the broader international consensus on its potential positive impact on the Israeli-Palestinian peace process, echoing the United States' position on the matter.

To date, nine EU member states have recognized Palestine. These include Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Malta, Poland, Romania, and Slovakia, which recognized Palestine in 1988 before joining the EU, and Sweden, which extended recognition in 2014.

This announcement marks a pivotal moment in the international diplomatic landscape concerning the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. (ILKHA)


Bu haberler de ilginizi çekebilir